Thursday, 7 April 2016

Gujarat cadre IPS officer appointed Addl Director in CBI

Gujarat's IPS officer Rakesh Asthana has been appointed as Additional Director in the CBI, as the government today cleared appointments of over a dozen senior level officers in the premier probe agency facing acute shortage of staff.

The Appointments Committee of Cabinet led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi has cleared the appointment of Asthana, a 1984 batch IPS officer of Gujarat cadre, as Additional Director in the central probe agency, an order issued by Department of Personnel and Training said. 

His batchmate Y C Modi, who has been part of Supreme Court-appointed Special Investigation Team that probed 2002 Gujarat riots cases, is already working as another Additional Director in the CBI. 

The ACC has appointed four new Joint Directors (JDs) in the agency--Vineet Vinayak, A Y V Krishna, Sai Manohar and M Nageshwar Rao. Vinayak, Krishna and Manohar are 1985-batch IPS officers of Sikkim, Assam and Madhya Pradesh cadres, respectively. Rao is a 1986 batch IPS officer of Odisha cadre. 

They all will have tenure of about five years, it said. 

The ACC has extended tenure of R P Agrawal, who is working as Joint Director in the CBI, from January 28, 2016 to January 27, next year, the order said. 

These appointments are in addition to 10 more officers appointed as DIG and SP in the agency. 

Senior IPS officer Sharad Agarwal, who is currently working with Delhi Police, has been appointed as Deputy Inspector General (DIG) for five years, it said. 

Agarwal is a 1997-batch IPS officer of union territories cadre. The Home Ministry is requested to take up the matter with the state government concerned immediately in respect of Agarwal, in order to enable him to join the CBI on deputation basis, the order said. 

Besides him, six IPS officers already working as SPs in the CBI have been inducted as DIG. They are Vineet Brijal, Atul Fulzele, Soorya Thankappan, G K Verma, Deepak M Damor and Tarun Gauba, it said. 

Three IPS officers, who have been appointed as SP in the CBI, are Asra Garg, S Kiran and Daljeet Singh. Garg is a 2004 batch IPS officer of Tamil Nadu cadre while Kiran is from Uttar Pradeshcadre. Singh is a 2007 batch IPS officer of Bihar cadre. 

"MHA is requested to take up the matter with the state governments concerned immediately for their relieving in order to enable them to join the CBI on deputation basis," the order said. 

The tenure of three officers--Rajiv Ranjan, Jose Mohan and Rakesh Rathi--already working as SP in the CBI has been extended for nearly three years, it said. 

As per CBIs latest data, a total of 1,641 posts are vacant in the agency against its sanctioned strength of 7,274.

SOURCE - business-standard