Friday, 25 March 2016

ACB chief Meena's name not in relieving order for joining new

Delhi Anti-Corruption Branch (ACB) chief MK Meena, who has been at loggerheads with the AAP government, has not been relieved from his post despite his name being there in a transfer order issued by the Union Home Ministry last month. 

Meena, who is also the joint commissioner of New Delhidistrict here, failed to see eye to eye with the ArvindKejriwal government on a range of issues ever since he was appointed to the ACB job.

An officer of 1989-batch AGMUT cadre, Meena was among 14 senior Delhi Police officials whose names were listed in the transfer order issued last month. 

However, the names of Meena and one other senior official, Shweta Chauhan, were not there in the relieving order issued yesterday, an official source said. 

The source said the final decision on Meena's posting, slated to be the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, will be taken on April 1. In the past three years, Meena was scheduled to have been transferred to Arunachal Pradesh and Andaman and Nicobar Islands, but in both cases the orders were cancelled, the source said. 

Under current rules, any officer under the Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram-Union Territories (AGMUT) cadre has to take at least three "hard" postings, which includes serving at places like Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram and Andaman and Nicobar Islands. 

While the first hard posting has a minimum tenure of three years, the subsequent ones last for two, a senior police official said. 

The relieving order issued yesterday included the name of Special Commissioner (Traffic) Muktesh Chander, who has been transferred to Goa. DCP (South) Prem Nath, who was initially heading the probe in the JNU row and was also a member of the SIT probing the Sunanda Pushkar case, has been transferred to Mizoram. 

The name of SK Gautam (Joint Commissioner-Central), who was probing the controversial protest outside the RSS office here in which the protesters were allegedly assaulted, has been transferred to Pondicherry. 

The relieving order also mentions the names of seven other officers. 

Two officers, TS Luthra (Joint Commissioner-rank) and Deepak Gauri (Additional DCP), have already left to join their new postings.

SOURCE - business-standard