Friday, 11 December 2015

National Commission for Safai Karamcharis Recommends to Make it a Permanent and Statutory Body with Powers of Civil Court

Commission also Recommends Abolishing Contract System for Safai Karamcharis and Ensuring Minimum Wages 

Annual Report 2014-15 of the National Commission for Safai Karamcharis presented to Shri Thaawar Chand Gehlot, Minister for Social Justice & Empowerment.

Chairman, National Commission for Safai Karmacharis presenting the Annual Report to Shri Thaawar Chand Gehlot, Union Minister for Social Justice & Empowerment. Ministers of State Shri Krishan Pal Gujjar & Shri Vijay Sampla are also present.

In the Annual Report, the Commission has made various recommendations for consideration by the Government. Commission’s main recommendations include (i) making the Commission a permanent and statutory body with powers of Civil Court to lend it more credibility, (ii) The Contract system should be abolished and also to ensure payment of minimum wages for Safai Karamcharis, (iii) Death victims among Safai Karamcharis should be compensated with a minimum Rs.10.00 Lakh as has already been ordered by the Supreme Court, (iv) Protection of rights, ensuring risk allowance, implementation of effective financing schemes for rehabilitation of Safai Karamcharis, etc., Need for strengthening the Commission with regard to budget allocations as well as staff strength was also discussed. It was also brought to the notice of the Minister that the Commission’s current tenure is soon to expire on 31st March, 2016. It was discussed whether the Commission’s tenure is to be extended further pending granting a permanent status. 

While presenting the Report, the Commission has appraised the Minister about a series of actions taken to implement “The Prohibition of Employment as Manual Scavengers and their Rehabilitation Act, 2013”

The Ministers for State, Shri Vijay Sampla and Shri Krishna Pal Gurjar were also present. The Chairman of the Commission Shri Shivanna was accompanied by Shri Gopal Krishan Sahotra and Shri Vijay Kumar, both Members and Shri T.R. Meena, Secretary.