Saturday, 14 November 2015

Odisha Appoints New Agri Secy In Major Reshuffle

In the backdrop of a drought situation and farmers' alleged suicide incidents in the state, Odisha government today appointed a new Agriculture Secretary and a Special Relief Commissioner in a major bureaucratic reshuffle. 

Cooperation department Secretary Manoj Ahuja was appointed as the new Agriculture Secretary in place of Rajesh Verma, who has been shifted as the Secretary of Energy department, according to a notification issued by the general administration department. 

Rural Development Secretary P K Mohapatra has been given additional charge as the Special Relief Commissioner and also the Managing Director of Odisha Disaster Management Authority. 

Energy department Secretary Suresh Chandra Mohapatra has been appointed as the Secretary, Forest and Environment department. 

Revenue Secretary Mona Sharma has been given additional charge of excise department while 2004 IAS officer Roopa Mishra has been appointed as the Labour Commissioner. 

Salini Pandit of 2001 batch has been appointed as the director of National Rural health Mission (NRHM). 

Higher Education Secretary Gagan Dhal replaced L N Gupta as the Secretary of Tourism and Culture department. 

Gupta will also remain in charge of the Secretary Skill Development and Technical Education. 

Secretary, General Administration Department G V V Sarma will also hold higher education department secretary post as additional charge. 

Industries Secretary Sanjeev Chopra has been given additional charge of CMD IPICOL and chairman of IDCO.
source - business-standard